Charles A. Lewis Excellence in Research Award

Nominations closed for 2020

Nominations are now being accepted for the Charles A. Lewis Excellence in Research Award. This award is in honor of Charles A. Lewis, a pioneer in the field of people-plant interaction and innovative horticultural programs throughout the community.

This award is given to a research scientist or research scientists who have published outstanding horticultural therapy research in a horticultural or medical journal. It recognizes contributions to evidence-based research that demonstrates the effectiveness of horticultural therapy and serves to increase the awareness of research-based findings supporting the health benefits offered through horticulture.

The author(s) and article must meet the following:

  • The author(s) have written at least one research paper that has been published in a peer-reviewed horticultural science or medical journal within the previous two (2) years (January 2018 to December 2019).
  • The article must be in reference to applied horticultural therapy research or the broader area of people-plant interaction.
  • The research design must use a statistical measure.
  • Review articles, philosophy and theory articles, program descriptions, and other non-research articles are not accepted for this award, even if the article was published in a refereed journal.
  • This award will be given to a different researcher or group of researchers each year. The same researcher or research team may receive this award no more than one time during a 5 year period.

Nominations will only be accepted if submitted through the online form. Please ensure you have all required documentation before beginning your nomination. 

Please include the following required documents with your nomination:

  1. Completed PDF application.
  2. A copy of the research article that is being submitted for consideration.
  3. A PDF statement explaining why you believe this research and the author(s) qualify for the award. You may attach limited supplementary information supporting the nomination, if appropriate.
  4. One other reference from a colleague or employer of the nominee. If self-nominated, you must include two additional references.

Nominations closed for 2020

Recipients will be invited to present their paper at the AHTA/IPPS 2020 Joint Annual Conference in Kansas City, Missouri.

Please contact Gary Altman at [email protected] for additional information.