AHTA Annual Awards

Recognizing excellence in horticultural therapy

To further its mission to promote and advance the practice of horticultural therapy as a therapeutic intervention and rehabilitative modality, AHTA sponsors an annual awards program to recognize the contributions of individuals and organizations whose personal initiative and achievement define outstanding performance in the field.

AHTA awards and honors excellence in seven areas: research; humanitarian service; publication of a book, paper, or research; horticultural therapy program services delivered in a community setting; professional service; therapeutic garden design; and academic achievement. Awards are presented at the AHTA Annual Conference held each fall.

Applications for the 2017 AHTA Awards will be available in the Spring of 2017. Nominees must be current AHTA members; however, it is not necessary to be an AHTA member to nominate someone. Please read the awards criteria and complete the online nomination applications once they become available. The deadline for nominations is published annually and falls in the summer. 

View a full list of past award recipients

 AHTA Annual Awards

Charles A. Lewis Excellence in Research Award

To honor Charles A. Lewis, a pioneer in the field of people-plant interaction and innovative horticultural programs throughout the community.  Given to recognize research scientists who have published outstanding horticultural therapy research in a horticultural or medical journal.  This award is to provide an incentive to contribute evidence-based research that demonstrates the effectiveness of horticultural therapy and to increase the awareness of research-based findings supporting the health benefits offered through horticulture.

AHTA Therapeutic Garden Design Awards
Awarded for the purpose of identifying and publicizing excellence in therapeutic design and programming to existing gardens and landscapes designed and maintained for therapeutic purposes. The document AHTA Therapeutic Garden Characteristics provides the basis for this award. 
2016 Recipient: Pacific Quest

AHTA Publication Award
Awarded in recognition of an outstanding book, paper, or research authored or co-authored by members of AHTA who have conceived, designed, evaluated, or reported innovative or significant developments in horticultural therapy. “Research” as applied to this award is broadly interpreted to include any area of inquiry related to horticultural therapy.

2016 Recipients: Lesley Fleming, HTR and Susan Morgan, MS

Ann Lane Mavromatis Scholarship
This $500 scholarship is awarded annually to a student member of AHTA in recognition of academic achievement and to promote the growth of professionalism in the field of horticultural therapy. The scholarship recipient’s registration fees for the annual meeting will be waived by the AHTA and she/he will be granted two nights lodging for the annual meeting.

Alice Burlingame Humanitarian Service Award
Awarded to an organization or individual who has given freely of their time, talent, and energy with special significance for horticultural therapy on a local, state or national level. Outstanding voluntary contribution to an organization or program need not necessarily be made in the year in which the nomination is made.

2016 Recipient: Candice A. Shoemaker, PhD, HTR

John Walker Community Service Award
Awarded in recognition of significant contribution in horticultural therapy in the area of program services provided to a community. Programs to be recognized shall be distinguished by their leadership in the field, innovative service delivery, and effective public relations.

Rhea McCandliss Professional Service Award
Awarded to a registered member (HTM, HTR, or HTA) of the AHTA in recognition of significant contribution to the field of horticultural therapy characterized by distinctive service in the promotion, organization, and development of horticultural therapy programs or for an original or unusual contribution affecting the philosophy or practice of horticultural therapy.

2016 Recipient: Derrick Stowell, HTR